Blog

State-by-State Guide of Medical Record Copying Fees

The Omnibus Rule, effective 9/23/2013, "allows for the identification of labor costs for copying protected health information (PHI), whether in paper or electronic form, which can include a reasonable cost-based fee for time spent creating and copying the file". The laws for copying medical records vary from state to state based on the statute passed by each state's legislation. Below are current fees for each state.

*PLEASE NOTE: Fees are subject to change based on new laws passed in each state throughout a calendar year. We will do our best to update this list as we receive new, verified statute information. If you notice a fee is incorrect or outdated, please Contact Us.  --- There are currently no fee statutes in place for Alaska, Idaho and South Dakota. --- These fees DO NOT reflect charges for patients requesting their own medical records. Fees for patients will vary based on new updates to the HITECH ACT, valid as of 4/2016. 

Alabama

Search Fee : $5.00
Pages 1 - 25 : $1.00 per page
Pages 26+ : $0.50 per page
X-rays / Other Media : Actual cost of reproduction

Per Section 12-21-6.1 Alabama Code Reproduction

Arizona

A reasonable fee may be charged.

Statute 12-2295

Arkansas

Search Fee : $15.00
Pages 1 - 25 : $0.50
Pages 26+ : $0.25
Storage Fee : A reasonable fee may be charged if records are stored off-site.

Code Section 16-46-106

California

Pages 1+ : $0.25 per page
Microfilm : $0.50 per page
X-rays : Actual cost of reproduction

Health and Safety Code Section 123110(b)

Colorado

Search Fee : $18.53 flat fee (First ten pages or fewer)
Pages 11 - 40 : $0.85 per page
Pages 41+ : $0.57 per page
Microfilm : $1.50 per page 

Rule 18-Medical Fee Schedule 18-6

Connecticut

Pages 1+ : $0.65 per page

CT Gen Stat 19a-490b

Delaware

Paper or Electronic Records:
Pages 1 - 10 : $2.00 per page
Pages 11 - 20 : $1.00 per page
Pages 21 - 60 : $0.90 per page
Pages 61+ : $0.50 per page
Microfilm and other media : Actual cost of reproduction

Delaware Administrative Code, Title 24: 24 Del Code, Chapter 1700, Section 16

Worker's Comp:
Search Fee : $25.00
Pages 1 - 20 : $1.25 per page
Pages 21 - 60 : $0.90 per page
Pages 61+ : $0.30 per page

Delaware Administrative Code, Title 19: 19 Del Code, Chapter 1300, Section 4

District of Columbia

A reasonable fee may be charged. 

Title 17, Chapter 46, Section 12

Florida

Search Fee : $1.00 (Per year per request)
Pages 1+ : $1.00 per page
Microfilm : $2.00 per page

Statute 395.3025 (1)

Worker's Comp:
Pages 1+ : $0.50 per page

69L-7.601

Georgia

Search Fee : $25.88
Pages 1 - 20 : $0.97 per page
Pages 21 - 100 : $ 0.83 per page
Pages 101+ : $0.66 per page 
Certification Fee : $9.70

O.C.G.A. 31-33-3

Worker’s Comp:
Search Fee : $30.00 flat fee (first 150 pages)
Pages 151+ : $0.20 per page
X-rays: $9.50 per copy

Page 15 Section IV

Hawaii

A reasonable fee may be charged.

Hawaii Revised Statute Section 622-57(g)

Illinois

Search Fee : $27.33 
Pages 1 - 25 : $1.02 per page
Pages 26 - 50 : $0.68 per page
Pages 50+ : $0.34 per page
Microfilm or other media : $1.71 per page 

Statute 735 ILCS 5/8-2006

Indiana

Search Fee : $20.00 flat fee (first 10 pages)
Pages 11 -  50 : $0.50 per page
Pages 51+ : $0.25 per page
Microfilm and other media : $1.25 per page
Rush Fee : Additional $10 if request is completed / sent within two days

760 IAC 1-71-3(a)

Iowa

A reasonable fee may be charged.

Statute 760 IAC 1-7-71-3

Worker's Comp:
$20 for 1 - 20 pages
$20 plus $1 per page for 21 - 30 pages
$30 plus $0.50 per page for 31 - 100 pages
$65 plus $0.25 per page for 101 - 200 pages
$90 plus $0.10 per page for 201+ pages

§ 876.8.9

Kansas

A "cost based fee" may be charged.

K.S.A. 65-4971(b)

Worker's Comp:
Pages 1 - 10 : $16.00 flat fee
Pages 11 - 50 : $12.00 flat fee (+ $16.00 = $28.00 total)
Pages 50+ : $0.35 per page

Division of Worker's Compensation Fee Schedule

Kentucky

First copy of records is FREE to the patient. 
A second copy of records requested by the same patient for the same records : $1.00 per page

Statute KRS 422.317

Worker's Comp:
Pages 1+ : $0.50 per page

803 KAR 25:160

Louisiana

Paper & Microfilm Records
Search Fee : $25.00
Pages 1 - 25 : $1.00 per page
Pages 26 - 350 : $0.50 per page
Pages 351+ : $0.25 per page

Electronic Records
Search Fee : $ 25.00
Pages 1 - 25 : $1.00 per page
Pages 26 - 350 : $0.50 per page
Pages 351+ : $0.25 per page
Max Fee : $100.00 per request

X-rays:
$20 flat fee (for hospitals) + reasonable production costs
$10 flat fee (for all other healthcare providers) + reasonable production costs

Worker's Comp
First Request : Free
Second Request : $0.50 per page

RS 40:1165.1

Maine

Paper Records
Page 1 : $5.00
Pages 2+ : $0.45 per page
Max Fee : $250.00 per request

Electronic Records
A reasonable fee may be charged. 
Max Fee : $150.00 per request

Statute Title 22 Part 4 Chapter 401 Section 1711-A

Maryland

Search Fee : $22.88
Pages 1+ : $0.76 per page

Statute 4-304

Massachusetts

Search Fee : $22.32
Pages 1 - 100 : $0.76 per page
Pages 100+ : $0.39 per page
X-rays and other media : Actual cost of reproduction
Social Security : No charge for a request to support a claim under the social security act. Must be specified in the request letter.

Massachusetts Hospital Association Policy and Regulation
*MHA calculates the updated CPI based on the law below.

Title XVI, Ch III, Section 70

Michigan

Search Fee : $23.71
Pages 1 - 20 : $1.19 per page
Pages 21 - 50 : $0.60 per page
Pages 51+ : $0.23 per page
NOTE: "A 'patient', as defined by this rule, shall not be charged the initial fee for the patient's own medical record. However, a patient can be charged the other permitted fees (e.g. the per page fees)."

Public Act 47 of 2004. MCL 333.26269

Minnesota

Search Fee : $17.96
Pages 1+ : $1.35 per page
X-rays : $10 Search Fee + the actual per page cost of reproduction

Worker's Comp:
Records Requested For Dates of Injury Only:
Pages 1+ : $0.75 per page

Records Requested For Dates Prior To / Outside of Injury:
Search Fee : $10.00
Pages 1+ : $0.75 per page

Section 144.292, Subdivision 6

Mississippi

Search Fee : $20.00 Flat Fee (first 20 pages)
Pages 21 - 80 : $1.00 per page
Pages 81+ : $0.50 pre page
Search/Storage Fee : $15.00 (only charged if records are retrieved from an off-site location)
Certification Fee : $25.00

Section 11-1-52, Mississippi Code of 1972

Worker's Comp:
Pages 1 - 5 : $15.00 (per admission) 
Pages 6+ : $0.50 per page (per admission, in addition to above $15 fee)
Max Fee : $50.00 per admission (excluding postage/handling and retrieval charges)

MS Worker's Comp

Missouri

Paper Records:
Search Fee : $24.85
Pages 1+ : $0.57 per page
Storage Fee : $23.26 (Additional fee if records are retrieved from an off-site location)

Electronic Records:
Search Fee: $24.85
Pages 1+ : $0.57 per page
Max Fee : $108.88 (For electronic records, you must charge a flat $108.88 fee, if the total cost of record copies exceeds the per page fee listed above.)

Section 191.227.5

Montana

Search Fee : $15.00
Pages 1+ : $0.50 per page

Montana Code Annotated 50-16-540

Nebraska

Search Fee : $20.00
Pages : 1+ : $0.50 per page
X-rays and other media : Actual cost of reproduction

Statute 71-8404

Nevada

Pages 1+ : $0.60 per page
X-rays and other media : Reasonable fees may be charged

NRS 629.061

New Hampshire

Charges are based on which is greater:
$15 flat fee for first 30 pages or $0.50 per page
X-rays and other media : Reasonable fees may be charged

Title XXX Occupations and Professions Chapter 332-I Medical Records
CITE: New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annoted Index | nhrsa.org

New Jersey

Hospitals (Attorneys representing patients, Insurance, Subpoenas):
Search Fee : $10.00
Pages 1 - 100 : $1.00 per page 
Pages 101+ : $0.25 per page
Max Fee : $200.00 per admission

Clinic (Attorneys representing patients, Insurance, Subpoenas):
Search Fee : $10.00
Pages 1+ : $1.00 per page 
Max Fee : $100.00 per admission

Attorneys that DO NOT represent the patient:
Search Fee : $10.00
Pages 1+ : $1.00 per page

P.L. 1971, c.136 (C.26:2H-1)

New Mexico

Pages 1 - 15 : $30.00 flat fee
Pages 16+ : $0.25 per page
X-rays and other media : Actual cost of reproduction

Statute 16.10.17.8

New York

Pages 1+ : $0.75 per page
X-rays and other media : Actual cost of reproduction

Worker's Comp:
$0.75 per page

Statute Sections 17 & 18 of Public Health Law (PHL)

North Carolina

Pages 1 - 25 : $0.75 per page
Pages 26 - 100 : $0.50 per page
Pages 100+ : $0.25 per page
Minimum charge : $10.00

Statute 90-411

North Dakota

Paper Records:
Pages 1 - 25 : $20 Flat Fee
Pages 26+ : $0.75 per page

Electronic Records:
Pages 1 - 25 : $30 Flat Fee
Pages 26+ : $0.25 per page

ND Cent Code Section 23-12-14

Ohio

Patient or Patient's Personal Representative:
Pages 1 - 10 : $3.11 per page
Pages 11 - 50 : $0.65 per page
Pages 51+ : $0.26 per page
X-rays, MRI, CAT scan (recorded on paper or film) : $2.13 per page

All Other Requestors:
Search Fee : $19.17
Pages 1 - 10 : $1.26 per page
Pages 11 - 50 : $0.65 per page
Pages 51+ : $0.26 per page
X-rays, MRI, CAT Scan (recorded on paper or film) : $2.13 per page

Ohio Revised Code Section 3701.742

Oklahoma

Paper Records:
Search Fee : $10.00
Pages 1+ : $0.50 per page
X-rays, imaging and other media : $5.00 per page
Postage : Actual cost of mailing 

Electronic Records:
Pages 1+ : $0.30/pg up to $200 (requires EMR)
Postage : Actual cost of mailing 

Statute 76 Oklahoma Statute Section 19

Oregon

Pages 1 - 10 : $30.00 Flat Fee 
Pages 11 - 50 : $0.50 per page
Pages 51+ : $0.25 per page
Bonus Fee : $5.00 if records are processed and sent within 7 business days from date of request
X-rays and other media : Actual cost of reproduction
Postage : Actual cost of mailing 

Statute ORS 192.521

Pennsylvania

Search Fee : $22.04
Pages 1 - 20 : $1.48 per page
Pages 21 - 60 : $1.10 per page
Pages 61+ : $0.37 per page
Microfilm : $2.19 per page

District Attorney Requests:
$22.04 Flat Fee Only 

SSA Requests:
$27.92 Flat Fee Only

46 Pa.B. 7598

Rhode Island

Paper Records: 
Pages 1 - 50 : $0.75 per page
Pages 51+ : $0.50 per page

Electronic Records: 
Pages 1+ : $0.10 per page
MAX FEE : $25.00

Rush Fee : $20.00 (only if request is fulfilled and records are delivered within 48 hours)
X-rays and other media : Reasonable costs not to exceed $25.00

R5-37- MD/DO Section 11.2

South Carolina

Electronic Records: 
Pages 1 - 30 : $0.65 per page
Pages 31+ : $0.50 per page
Certification Fee : $25.00
MAX FEE : $150.00 per request

Paper Records: 
Pages 1 - 30 : $0.65 per page
Pages 31+ : $0.50 per page
Certification Fee : $25.00
MAX FEE : $200.00

44-7-325

South Dakota

No fee schedule currently in place. 

36-2-16

Tennessee

Clinic Records:
Pages 1 - 5 : $20.00 flat fee
Pages 6+ : $0.50 per page
Postage : Actual cost of mailing 

Hospital Records:
Pages 1 - 5 : $18.00 flat fee
Pages 6 - 50 : $0.85 per page
Pages 51 - 250 : $0.60 per page
Postage : Actual cost of mailing 

Social Security : Attorneys providing that the patient is applying for social security benefits and indigent may receive records free of charge. Proof of indigency affidavit may be required. 

Title 63 Professions Of The Healing Arts/Chapter 2 Medical Records/63-2-102 and Tennessee Code Annotated 68-11-304

Texas

Hospitals Records:
Pages 1 - 10 : $45.79 flat fee
Pages 11 - 60 : $1.54 per page
Pages 61 - 400 : $0.76 per page
Pages 401+ : $0.41 per page

Microfilm:
Pages 1 - 10 : $69.74 flat fee
Pages 11+ : $1.54

If records are stored on digital or electronic platform:
Search Fee : $82.95

Texas Health & Safety Code §241.154
CITE: The University of Texas Medical Branch

Utah

Paper Records
Search Fee : $21.16
Pages 1 - 40 : $0.53 per page
Pages 41+ : $0.32 per page

Electronic Records
For records requests made BEFORE 6/30/18: "Per page fee for producing a copy of records on a digital or electronic medium shall be 60% of the per page fee otherwise provided in this section, regardless of whether the original medical records are stored in electronic format."

For records requests made on or after 7/1/18: "Per page fee for producing a copy of records on a digital or electronic medium shall be 50% of the per page fee otherwise provided in this section, regardless of whether the original medical records are stored in electronic format."

78B-5-618

Vermont

A fee of $5 or no more than $0.50 per page, whichever is greater.

Social Security : No charge for any request made under the provision of the Social Security Act.

Title 18 Chapter 221 Section 9419

Virginia

Electronic Records:
Search Fee : $20.00
Pages 1 - 50 : $0.37 per page
Pages 51+ : $0.18 per page

Paper Records:
Search Fee : $20.00
Pages 1 - 50 : $0.50 per page
Pages 51+ : $0.25 per page

Microfilm and other media:
Search Fee : $10.00
Pages 1+ : $1.00 per page

8.01-413

Washington

Search Fee : $26.00
Pages 1 - 30 : $1.17 per page
Pages 31+ : $0.88 per page

WAC 246-08-400

West Virginia

Search Fee : $20.00
Pages 1+ (paper records) : $0.40 per page
Pages 1+ (electronic records) : $0.20 per page
Max Fee (electronic records) : $150

§16-29-2

Wisconsin

Paper Records:
Search Fee (Only for requesters that are NOT patient or patient's personal representative) : $21.73
Pages 1 - 25 : $1.10 per page
Pages 26 - 50 : $0.82 per page
Pages 51 - 100 : $0.54 per page
Pages 101+ $0.32 per page

Microfilm and other media : $1.62 per page
X-rays : $10.84 per image
Certification (if request is NOT patient or patient's personal representative) : $8.69 per request 

Worker's Comp:
Pages 1 - 16 : $7.50 flat fee OR if pages are 17+, $0.45 per page
Certification : No charge

Wis Stat 146.83 (3F) (C) 2

Wyoming

A reasonable fee may be charged reflecting actual cost to produce records.

Title 35, Chapter 2, Article 6, Section 35-2-611(b)
CITE: Justia US Law | law.justia.com/codes/wyoming

« View Listing